Board of Directors

The Cando Board of Directors consists of elected members who are responsible for managing the affairs of Cando. The Board of Directors is responsible for developing Cando's three year business plan, including budgets. It makes annual adjustments to the business plan, and provides direction to the Cando Office through the Executive Director, who ensures the business plan is executed. Directors must hold full membership in Cando, be involved in economic development, and employed by an Indigenous organization or community. The Board convenes meetings two to three times per year at different locations in Canada and meets several times per year through teleconferencing.


Meet the Executive Committee

The Executive Committee was elected by the Board of Directors on November 22, 2018.

"I am deeply humbled and grateful to be elected for another one-year term as the President of Cando. I would like to also take the opportunity to congratulate Ed Collins as our new Vice-President and Elaine Chambers as our Secretary Treasurer. We have a lot of work to do to make our organization the go-to economic development national organization. This year I would like us to continue our efforts to reach out to all of the national organizations working in economic development to join us at the table to discuss how we can put our people first whether is First Nations, Inuit or Métis business owners."

Keith Matthew - Cando President

Keith Matthew

Keith Matthew

President & Director - Southern British Columbia

(250) 828-9833
seklep [at]

Read Bio


Edmond CollinsEdmond Collins
Vice President & Director - Ontario
(807) 623-2021
edcollins [at]
Read Bio


Elaine new photoElaine Chambers
Secretary Treasurer & Director - Yukon
(867) 668-6925
elaine [at]
Read Bio



Trevor C. AcooseTrevor C. Acoose
Director - Saskatchewan
(306) 697-8122
secondbuffalo [at]
Read Bio


Stanley 2018Stanley Barnaby
Director - New Brunswick & Prince Edward Island
(506) 444‐8884
Stanley.Barnaby [at]
Read Bio

Bob CheethamBob Cheetham
Director - Nunavut
(867) 360-7141 x 8
EDOgjoa [at]

Read Bio


Tim DanielsTim Daniels
Director - Manitoba
(204) 857-3530
timdaniels [at]
Read Bio




Amy LizotteAmy Lizotte
Director - Northwest Territories
(867) 767-9212 x 63249
amy_lizotte [at]
Read Bio

Tracy MengeTracy Menge
Director - Nova Scotia, Newfoundland & Labrador
(902) 565-2233
tracymenge [at]
Read Bio


Bertram MercerBertram Mercer

Director - Northern British Columbia
(250) 633-3000
bertramm [at]

Read Bio



Shawna Morning BullShawna Morning Bull
Director - Alberta
(403) 238-9100
shawna [at]
Read Bio

Mickel RobertsonMickel Robertson
Director - Quebec
(418) 843-1488
mrobertson [at]
Read Bio

Vacant Board Position
National Student Director