Sharing our stories and celebrating our successes will ensure that economic development initiatives continue to grow. In 1995, the Cando Economic Developer of the Year Award was created to recognize and promote recent or long-standing Aboriginal economic development initiatives throughout Canada.

Three outstanding examples of Aboriginal economic development were awarded for their hard work over the year. Delegates at the National Conference voted for three categories: Individual EDO, Community & Aboriginal Private Sector Business.

See past winners and read complete profiles on this year’s ED of the Year Award here.

2011 Economic Developer of the Year Award Winners

Presentation of award from L-R: Moricetown Band, Grant Tailbossigai and Neechie Gear

  • Moricetown Band – Kyahwood Forest Products, BC (Community Category)
  • Grant Taibossigai, M’Chigeeng First Nation, ON (Individual EDO Category)
  • Neechie Gear, SK (Aboriginal Private Sector Business Category)

2011 Economic Developer of the Year Recognition Recipients

Presentation of award from L-R: Westbank First Nation, Alfred Loon and
NATION Imagination

  • Westbank First Nation, BC (Community Category)
  • Alfred Loon, Grand Council of the Cree / Cree Regional Authority, QC (Individual EDO Category)
  • NATION Imagination, AB (Aboriginal Private Sector Business Category)